The little pig with my name on it was always at the front of all the other pigs on the wall of my third grade classroom.  This represented that I was the leading my class in times tables.  This is my first memory of learning math in school, and it revolved around memorization.  As I got older, math basically remained the same in my mind: you learn the algorithm, use it on your test and homework, and earn an A! I had my classes down a formula! The one time I remember actually being frustrated in math was when I did a project in 8th grade Algebra where we could use any method we wanted to estimate the number of marbles in an oddly shaped vase.  It was madness! How was I supposed to get an A when nobody was telling me what to do?

Now, after completing my degree in mathematics, I thrive on having to use my own reasoning to arrive at a solution.  Getting into the upper division classes, I was aware that they would be focused on proofs, but I was not prepared for the learning curve I faced as I transitioned from memorize-er to mathematician.  However, this is when I fell in love with the subject.  I began to see the beauty in the logical foundation of mathematics and the creation of a proof from prior knowledge, intuition and creativity.  My love for mathematics started to come from my ability to act as a mathematician, struggles and all, and not from my ability to receive an A in the class.  I am confident in my claim that I am driven intrinsically in my study of mathematics. Math is definitely my favorite subject now.

One teacher that helped me to come to my current view is Professor Laura Stevens, who taught "Foundations of Teaching and Learning Math".  After 3 years of calculus courses and real analysis, she helped me to actually understand what the subject was used for and where it comes from (intuitively and logically).  She would always start classes by throwing a question at us and giving us time to think of the various ways of solving it.  We would then present some of the solutions to the class and then rigorously build new theorems or definitions together as needed for deeper exploration. 

As a teacher, I hope to intrinsically motivate my students and provide them with a deeper understanding of mathematics.  I want to go beyond the formulas and algorithms and teach students in the way that I was taught by some of my best teachers.  I hope for my students to understand that math is approachable, something they already do, and a skill they can apply to all facets of life.  



Leave a Reply.